.: ShaolinTiger – Kung-Fu Geekery :.

Maybank Phishing Scam E-mails in Malaysia

Recently I've received quite a few Phishing scam e-mails pretending to be from Maybank, of course I'm not even a Maybank customer.

For those that don't know, Phishing is:

In the field of computer security, phishing is the criminally fraudulent process of attempting to acquire sensitive information such as usernames, passwords and credit card details by masquerading as a trustworthy entity in an electronic communication. Communications purporting to be from popular social web sites (YouTube, Facebook, MySpace, Windows Live Messenger), auction sites (eBay), online banks (Wells Fargo, Bank of America, Chase), online payment processors (PayPal), or IT Administrators (Yahoo, ISPs, corporate) are commonly used to lure the unsuspecting.

It looks like one of my e-mail addresses has gotten onto some local Malaysian scam/spam e-mail list. Thankfully it's not my normal mail, it's one I use for signing up to sites and for places likely to generate junk.

The e-mail which supposedly sent the phishing mail was "Maybank (maybank@security.com.my)" with the mail looking as follows:

Maybank Phishing E-mail

The text is as follows:

We are hereby notifying you that we've recently suffered a DDos-Attack on one of our's Online Banking server. For security reasons you must complete the next steps to verify the integrity of your Maybank account. If you fail to complete the verification in the next 24 hours your account will be suspended.

Here's how to get started:

1. Log in to Maybank online account (click here).

2. You must request for TAC via Maybank online banking - your TAC will be sent via SMS to the mobile phone number you registered. (you can find the "Request a TAC" button in the Utilities menu of your account)

3. Logout from your account and close the browser.

4. When you have received the TAC (Transaction Authorization Code) on your mobile phone, go to our secured verification server and submit the requested information (Username, password and TAC). (click here) to go on our secured server.

5. Please allow 48 hours for processing.

Please comply and thanks for understanding.

***This is an automated message, please do not reply***

The actual link in the e-mail is http://mail1.irs-usa.com/ - which was a fairly legitimate looking Maybank login page. It appears the site has been taken offline now, it seems like it's some kind of Chinese business and the email server was hacked.

The terrible grammar should give you a warning bell in your head that this probably isn't a legitimate e-mail.

When you visit the site (Using Firefox, IE gives no such prompt) you will get the Phishing warning:

Firefox Phishing Warning

Another good reason to use Firefox right?

Maybank users will be particularly prone to falling for this, and they even ask for the TAC code - so the access they will have will be dangerous.

Do warn people about these kind of e-mails, they weren't an issue when we were receiving Phishing scam mails from Chase America and Capital One - but now they are being localised they are a real threat.

There is some info from Maybank here and a way to report Phishing e-mails on the same page.

Post to Twitter Post to Yahoo Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Ping.fm Post to StumbleUpon

  

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Follow @ShaolinTiger on Twitter Follow me on Twitter Follow @ShaolinTiger on Twitter Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to RSS Subscribe to RSS

Posted in Internet & Tech | 7 comments -

Related Posts:
- Moms Trip – Day 5 – Dinner at Sate/Satay Kajang Haji Samuri (PJ Uptown)
- Stupid People that E-mail Me
- I’m Quitting Blogging
- Back in Brunei..YAH!
- Twitter Weekly Updates for 2009-09-26 From @ShaolinTiger
- The Downfall of Malaysia My Second Home Program (MM2H)

7 Comments so far

  1. David  on March 23rd, 2009 at 12:22 pm
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0.7 on Windows Windows XP 

    Got this about 1 or 2 weeks back, it seemed pretty real to me but in the end, brushed it off thinking that it could some kind of scam

  2. moons  on March 23rd, 2009 at 6:22 pm
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0 on Windows Windows Vista 

    Hm.. never gotten one myself but instead got one for CIMB bank and likewise, am not a CIMB customer.

    I just do hope that most people using online banking read their banks alert messages and avoid logging in direct from email links as most banks do not even contact their customers through email.

    Apparently my professor in the UK did mention about this and she actually gets over 10 phishing emails per day. Guess Malaysia still has rather low fraudulent emails compared to elsewhere.

  3. ShaolinTiger  on March 30th, 2009 at 7:42 pm
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0.8 on Windows Windows XP 

    David: Yah I got another one shortly after, exactly the same language but for Ambank. Good job you brushed it off.

    moons: Yah it's hit and miss but they do seem to be country specific at least so their e-mail harvesting is accurate.

  4. Joey Logano  on April 1st, 2009 at 5:33 am
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0.8 on Windows Windows XP 

    I am not sure if its a good thing to link to the scam.... I think Google might penalize the website for "linking to a bad neighborhood" as they call it.

    Usually when I get those emails, I hover over my mouse to see the true url address.

  5. ShaolinTiger  on April 1st, 2009 at 6:16 pm
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0.8 on Windows Windows Vista 

    Joey Logano: Well I don't rely too much on search engine traffic it's not too much of an issue.

  6. Desiree  on April 3rd, 2009 at 11:02 am
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.0.8 on Windows Windows XP 

    I have encountered this same problem. Kept getting this Maybank e-mails in my work e-mail address. I got so sick and tired one day and i clicked the reply button and said that Maybank DOES NOT have my current work e-mail address as i have not updated it in more than a year and to stop spamming me. Guess what...it stopped after that....hahhahahaha

  7. phishbuster  on July 27th, 2010 at 5:05 pm
    Using Mozilla Firefox Mozilla Firefox 3.6.2 on Mac OS Mac OS X 

    If you guys received any suspicious email that regards to phishing. Just forward it to cyber999@cybersecurity.my. Cheers!

Leave a reply


Stalk Me

  • Follow Me on Twitter!
  • Users Online

    Sponsor

    Recent Comments

    Top Commentators

    Topics

    Blog Stuff


  • Other Links

    Powered By

  • Linux
  • Apache
  • PHP
  • MySQL
  • Get Firefox!
  • WordPress is a state-of-the-art semantic personal publishing platform
  • FileZilla
  • Free Source Code Editor!
  • Photoshop CS2